top of page
IMG_3730.jpg
LOGO.png
IMG_4221_edited_edited.png
  • Nalini Joseph

Unity, Diversity, Differences, Living Harmoniously

Updated: Aug 18, 2021

From the first time I read James Madison's Federalist 10 (way back in college), I was fully convinced of his genius and still am to this day.


I am the eternal optimist and I believe there is much unity even in diversity. America is proof positive of that concept. Caucasians, African Americans, American Indians, Hispanics, Asians and first generation immigrants from all parts of the world can and do live together. Our city of Salisbury is a microcosm of America. On my street alone, my neighbors are Caucasian, African American, Asian and first generation immigrants (like myself and my husband) - plenty of cultural and racial diversity. If we all sat down and discussed deep issues, I am sure there would be differences of opinion (perhaps vast differences on opinion) but we all live in harmony next door to each other. (I do not wish to mention any names to protect privacy here - furthermore I mention races here to illustrate my point). My son plays with the Caucasian doctor's kids across the street, my African American next door neighbor and I chat often, my next door neighbor is an American of Chinese origin and has taken the time to coach my son in the Chinese language. Never once in the past decade have I seen any issues that prohibit us from living harmoniously in the same neighborhood. Of course I am not naïve enough to think that everyone has this blessed of a neighborhood.


I completely understand that differences occur and factions are created wherever there is a group of people who have opinions on a subject. Federalist 10 - "The latent causes of faction are thus sown in the nature of man; and we see them everywhere brought into different degrees of activity, according to the different circumstances of civil society." However, I also feel that at the neighborhood level we can have our differences and live harmoniously. Madison prescribes later in the essay "The inference to which we are brought is, that the CAUSES of faction cannot be removed, and that relief is only to be sought in the means of controlling its EFFECTS."


Just as in business, one does not just fire one's employees because the employee acts disgruntled every now and then. One doesn't just quit dealing with a vendor who does not fulfil his promise a couple of times. One must manage the issues ("work the problem" as they say) - i.e. take into consideration overall interpersonal relationships with the offending party, try to put oneself in the other party's situation to understand why the problem occurred, and maybe even teach the other party how perhaps they can change their operations in order to avoid future problems or strike a compromise. "Life is all about the tradeoffs we make" (Thomas Sowell). Double-back and look at the bigger picture, apply management principles - that I believe is what Madison is saying. Factions (and issues) are going to occur. Managing them is the only way to mitigate bad outcomes (effects). Of course when all this does not work, then countermeasures must be employed. The extent and severity of the countermeasures must always be within the prescriptions of the law, adhere to one's personal moral code, always keeping the larger good in mind (no place for ego in the decision making process).


I will conclude by saying this:

Unity, for me, means making negotiated compromises to work out our differences and subsequently move forward as a unit.

40 views

Recent Posts

See All

Catawba Grad aims to keep Salisbury "Green"

“Generally, people have things that are more within their personal purview that are difficult to deal with and that they are avoiding - and the way they avoid them is by adopting pseudo-moralistic sta

City of Salisbury General Fund - Part I REVENUE

General Fund this is the city's main operating account - money coming into this main fund (or account) is what the city uses to provide us with services like fire dept., policing, street repairs, stre

Quest for a new City Manager

Farewell and Thank you to City Manager Mr. Lane Bailey Salisbury is going to be dealt a tough blow with city manager Mr. Lane Bailey retiring. Mr. Bailey has been a very competent manager who has seen

bottom of page